Your dogs food bowl could be causing your dog health problems.

Sometimes I walk into my local pet store and feel a little overwhelmed with all of the choices. Is there really a difference between the raised bowl and the one with the steep sides?

Well, apparently there is a difference.

Did you know large dogs should eat from elevated bowls?

Did you know large dogs should eat from elevated bowls?

It wasn’t until recently when I adopted Malakai that I learned of another feeding option, food puzzles.

Malakai loves his Kyjen Paw Flapper puzzle toy. It was one of his first puzzles.

Malakai loves his Kyjen Paw Flapper puzzle toy. It was one of his first puzzles.

If you have a dog that eats very quickly or makes messes with its food, puzzles may be a good option for your pup.

It took Malakai about 15 minutes to figure this Kyjen Paw Flapper toy out and he can now do the puzzle and retrieve the treats in a few minutes even with the resistance all the way up.

Now, both Malakai and Jayda share four different puzzle toys that are great for curbing boredom and keeping them entertained while I am gone at class all day.

Does your dog eat out of the proper bowl according to this infographic? I know Malakai and Jayda don’t yet, but that will be changing soon.

Which food puzzles have your dogs used?

4 thoughts on “Your dogs food bowl could be causing your dog health problems.

  1. My mum and I have 8 brain training toys between us and we swap them over when our dogs get too used to the same ones and yes both my dogs eat from raised bowls except their water which they get from a pet fountain so drink from the flow rather than the bowl. Great post, I think it’s very important for dog owners to know these things as it can prevent a lot of problems later on 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the response! I’ve studied pet food for a few years and I have never even thought about the bowl they were eating from. I’m glad I stumbled upon this photo.
      My dogs love their puzzles. We also make our own. I may make a post about them next week. I have heard great things about the pet fountains. We are saving for one. Jayda especially loves to drink from moving water.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I also make up brain games for them like hiding a treat under one of three cups or putting dog biscuits into a toilet roll tube, folding the ends over then hide them round the house for the dogs to find and open, I think I did a post previously on it! I purchased the pet fountain as I have a bad back so it saves me bending to refresh their water as often. If you get one make sure it has a pre filter as that’s why it took me so long to invest in one as I had seen numerous reviews stating that it broke due to dog hair getting stuck in the motor, so I went for the Drinkwell Platinum as it was the only one available with a pre filter. When my last foster dog was here I bought a water bowl for the crate but my two refused to drink from it, only the fountain lol

        Like

      • Thanks for the reply! I’ll definitely take the hair tip into consideration when I buy a fountain. Both of my dogs are super hairy. We hide treat toys around the house here too. When you live in 800 square feet you’ve got to find a way to keep the pups entertained haha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

